2022 MSSA Open Water Swim Championships Summary

The 11th annual MSSA Open Water Swim Championships were held on 16 January at Somerton Beach. There was a record 168 entries (161 who swam) in the 1 and 3 km events. Conditions were superb on the day. 

The overall Female and Male winners in the 3 km event were Leila Nazimi (SHB) and Liam McHugh (SUS)  while the 1km winners were Stephanie Palmer White (SAM) and Mark Preiss (SAO). 

Team Trophies were hotly contested with Marion winning the Aggregate Points Trophy (ahead of Atlantis and Phoenix) while Uni SA won the Average Points /Swimmer Trophy (just ahead of Aquadome Otters and Phoenix). 

Golden Marlin trophies for completing 10 Marion swims were presented to Joe Bayer(SPM ), Andrew Cranley (SNO), Ron Hardie (SMR), Leila Nazimi (SHB), Grant Simpson (SPM) and Andrew Smith (SMR) while Roman Zaika (SAM) was presented with a 20 year award.

The Barb Pearce Trophy, awarded to the oldest female to complete all open water swims in the 2020-21Channel Nine Open Water Swim Series season was awarded to Pauline Smith (SHB), age 79.

Thanks to Ben Warr, Open Swim Coordinator and all the Marlins who assisted on the day and Somerton SLSC for providing excellent  water cover.


Click here for the 1km Results

Click here for the 3km Results

Click here for Championships Team Trophies 2012-2022

Click here for the Championships Overall Winners 2012-2022

Click here for Championships 1km Age Group Placings 2012-2022

Click here Championships 3km Age Group Placings 2012-2022

Click here for Collation of all Swims (2001-2022)

Marie Dingwall Memorial Trophy Winners