The 12th annual MSSA Open Water Swim Championships were held at Somerton Beach on 15 January. A brisk wind meant for choppy conditions which challenged all competitors, particularly those in the longer 3km race. There were 131 entries (121 swam).

The overall Female and Male winners in the 3 km event were Leila Nazimi (SHB) and Luke Bell while the 1km winners were Stephanie Palmer White (SAM) and Mark Preiss (SAO). Team Trophies were hotly contested with Marion winning the Aggregate Points Trophy (ahead of Adelaide Masters and Phoenix) while Henley Beach won the Average Points per Swimmer Trophy (just ahead of Phoenix and Uni SA). The Barb Pearce Trophy, awarded to the oldest female to complete all open water swims in the 2021-22 Series was presented to Pauline Smith (SHB).